Skip to content

She Wants Revenge – This is Forever

She Wants Revenge

When Justin Warfield and “Adam 12” Bravin hit the earwaves in 2006 with the She Wants Revenge self-titled debut, things happened at the speed of light. Hitting all the “next best thing” lists, late night talk shows and music festivals was the second breath to their initial small club tour. The two had individually been at this music thing for a while, but it was obvious that their dose of dark, seductive, retro-with-present-day flair shot into the veins of many who couldn’t help but close their eyes and sway to the trip.

Just when “Tear You Apart” starts to play out of a shuffle iPod selection and you wonder, “what happened to those guys?” SWR returns with their sophomore release, This Is Forever, which accompanies a nationwide tour to introduce the next chapter in their musical story. The characters are now bringing more instrumental nuances into the picture, elevating the level of sophistication and opportunity for the listener to create their own vision of the plot. Organics also play a larger part, as in “It’s Just Begun,” that’s painted with a base coat of classic piano and acoustic guitar.

The mood is still in the dark shadows of a nightclub or a seedy motel, but their presentation still makes the gritty scenario somehow romantic and lustful. “I told you so” emotions, regret, longing, and yes, the feeling of wanting to get revenge are all still very much a part of SWR foundation, but they still manage to portray this array of negative feelings into a format that is utterly desirable; an ability to drown one’s long lost love baggage and pain within a seductive glass of vocal wine and whiskey beats.

In true storytelling form, “She Will Always Be A Broken Girl” follows the self-doubt and internal conflict within the life of “the broken girl,” offering up the most lyrical detail, as if they’re giving out a free ticket for guilt-free eavesdropping…blending a bit of the “O.C.” with the edgy gloom of “Heathers.”

The duo takes stab at the search-for-love market in their video for “True Romance,” where in the girl’s desperation, she purchases and uses a modern-day love potion combination of DVD and liquid dropper, but alas, the tale does not have a happy ending. What would be interesting if they brought in David Lynch to throw his director’s wand upon “Written in Blood,” which I believe would be right up his dark alley.

She Wants Revenge is on the road with Kenna, coming through town on Thursday, October 11, and continuing on to Chicago, Montreal, New York, and coming back through the Midwest until they arrive back in Cali in mid November.

North American Tour Dates
Oct 5 – Pomona, CA @ Glasshouse
Oct 7 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theatre
Oct 8 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox
Oct 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @
Oct 11 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre
Oct 12 – Lawrence, KS @ Granada
Oct 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Oct 15 – Chicago, IL@ Metro
Oct 16 – Cleveland, OH @ Agora Ballroom
Oct 18 – Detroit, MI @ St. Andrew’s Hall
Oct 19 – Toronto, ON @ Opera House
Oct 20 – Montreal, QC @ Le National
Oct 22 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Oct 23 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
Oct 25 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore at Theatre of Living Arts
Oct 26 – Baltimore, MD @ Washington, DC
Oct 27 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Oct 28 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Oct 29 – Atlanta, GA @ The Loft
Oct 30 – Orlando, FL @ The Club at Firestone
Nov 1 – Dallas, TX @ Granada Theatre
Nov 2 – Houston, TX @ Meridian
Nov 3 – Austin, TX @ Emo’s Alternative Lounging (Outdoor)
Nov 5 – Tempe, AZ @ Marquee Theatre
Nov 6 – Tucson, AZ @ Rialto Theatre
Nov 7 – Anaheim, CA @ The Grove of Anaheim
Nov 8 – San Diego, CA @ House of BluesSan Diego, CA
Nov 9 & 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ Henry Fonda Theatre
Nov 12 – Ventura, CA @ Majestic Ventura Theatre
Nov 13 – Sacramento, CA @ Empire

Visit their myspace for an exclusive FREE download

Geffen Records


Sign up to our newsletter and get updates to your mailbox